My avatar

My new portfolio and blog website!


I spent my 4-day Chinese New Year building a brand new personal website from zero.

I used my 4-day Chinese New Year holiday to build a brand new personal website for myself.

Why

Building portfolios is what every programmer will do and they should actaully avoid it. Why do I need to build a new one? There are a few reasons.

  1. My old blog website has not been updated for a long time and I am quite not familiar with it now.
  2. I wrote many bad code in my previous codebase and I can do nothing with them now. (e.g. I was using vanilla CSS)
  3. When I built my previous blog website, I know nothing about designing. Therefore, there are just a bunch of bad UI designs out there in my old website. I was just putting everything I can make together before. I just learned a little bit about designing so I can just make a new portfolio to practise.
  4. I got attracted byMoritz Petersen’s portfolio. The amazing effects in that website is just urging me to implement them myself (This is my original motivation).

This website brought me a windfall! I posted the effects that I made onTwitterand got 2 times more followers in one day, which encourages me a lot. Now you can see all of them at thehome pageof this website.

New

I made the beautiful and nice home page of this website.

Wanna know how to make amazing effects like this? I may post some guides to those effects later according to what people wanna learn.

I usedSassas my styling tool. I had never used it before, so this is also for me to practise using Sass. I did copied a lot of code from my previous code base, but most of the code are highly modified and re-written.

I already put one of my articles about building a Brainfuck interpreter in this website. For the rest of my posts in my old blog website I haven’t decided wheather to put them here or not.

Future

This website is made from zero fast and roughly. A lot of things haven’t been done yet, including SEO and many other things essential for a portfolio. Also, many of the designs I made in this website still need to be reviewed and I will attemplt to improve UX as much as possible. If you have any bad feelings about something, feel free to give some suggestions to me! Thank you!

BTW, this website is one hundred percent open source onGithub.

Sorry I don’t wanna spend much time on writing this so it might look a little rough. You can see I’m really in a hurry because I didn’t even used an emoji through the whole article!